The Canterbury Co-ordinating Executive Group

What is the Canterbury Co-ordinating Executive Group?

The Coordinating Executive Group is a committee established and maintained under section 20 of the Civil Defence and Emergency Managment Act.

The Canterbury Group CEG comprises the following statutory appointments:

  • The chief executive officer of each member local authority
  • A senior member of the Police
  • A senior member of the Fire Service
  • The chief executive officers of the Canterbury District Health Board and South Canterbury District Health Board

In Canterbury the following additional representatives are on the Coordinating Executive Group:

  • A senior Canterbury representative of Ministry of Primary Industries
  • A senior Canterbury representative of the Canterbury business community
  • A senior Canterbury representative of St John
  • A senior reprentative of Te Rūnanga o Ngāi Tahu
  • A South Island officer of the Ministry of Civil Defence and Emergency Management
  • The Canterbury Group Controller
  • The Chair of the Welfare Coordination Group
  • The Chair of the Rural Advisory Group
  • The Chair of the Canterbury Lifelines Utilities Group.


The CEG is responsible to the CDEM Group for:

  • Providing advice to the CDEM Group and any subgroups or subcommittees of the Group.
  • Implementing, as appropriate, the decisions of the CDEM Group.
  • Overseeing the implementation, development, maintenance, monitoring, and evaluation of the CDEM Group Plan.
  • Monitoring the performance and effectiveness of any agreement or contract that the Group may enter into for the provision of goods and services.

Related Links

Ministry of Civil Defence & Emergency Management

back to top

Civil Defence Emergency Management Group © Copyright 2021 All rights reserved.

Designed by OneClick | Powered by Umbraco